I Knew You Loved Me

I knew you loved me…

when I was really hungry in that cold night and the restaurant had neither chicken nor beef so I had to take lamb which 90% of it was any part of the lamb but the meat, you dug in the hotpot, searched for the meat, and gave it to me so I could eat.

music box

when you gave me a music box without any reason. It wasn’t my birthday. It wasn’t Christmas day.

(right) my first time flying China airlines: domestic flight Guangzhou-ChengZhou

when you paid all my hotel, food, taxi, bus, subway, train, and GZ-CZ flight expenses. When I made an objection, you calmly said that it was a husband job: something you must do for me.

 

taxi driver in a "cage"

 

interprovince train ticket. a 14-hour trip! (i slept like a baby)

 

view from top bunk

when I had difficulty in getting out from top bunk of the hard sleeper train, you opened your arms down there, assuring me not to worry because you would catch me.

 

 

(left-right) coat, long sleeve shirt, jacket, scarf

when you helped me to zip my oversize winter coat as you noticed my failure in doing it myself because my body was stiffed by 4 layers of clothes I was wearing – long john, long sleeve shirt, cardigan, and jacket.

when you warned me to always put on my winter coat and gloves before I left the warm hotel room – instead of when i was in front of hotel building – and you yelled at me when I was too stubborn not to do what you suggested.

the park in the morning (we went there again the next morning)

when in the dark, cold, and foggy city park I told you I scared if there was any bad guy, you laughed and assured me that the park was safe. When I insisted that there must be big chance of criminal act in place like this, you smiled and said “Ok, here’s how: If there were two bad guys, I could handle them. But if there were more than two, you should run, don’t think of me, ok. And as soon as I got the chance, I would run following you”. (Second after you finished your sentence, both of us burst to laugh!)

which one shall i choose? your mom's cute slippers or your Adidas?

when you offered me to wear your Adidas shoes when I told you my feet were really cold as my Adidas running shoes couldn’t protect me from -3 degree temperature.

when you, without me asking it, bought me bottled water two times a day (one in the morning before we started our day and one in the evening when we finished our day) once you learned from few days earlier that I drink like a camel.

italian food!

when you took me to western restaurant – as you noticed that I ate little every time we ate local food – though it meant you have to use your credit card to pay the bill.

when I was ‘dying’ as my feet were freezing during our trip in intercity bus heading to your hometown late at night, you offered me your less-exposure-to-cold wind seat, took off your jacket and used it to cover my feet, and gave my legs a comforting warm massage during the whole 2.5-hour trip! (“You scared me! I thought you almost died!” you shouted once we arrived at the warm hotel, safe and… mute! hehehe).

fresh strawberries! *like this*

when I looked so happy seeing strawberry seller on the street and I informed you that strawberry was one of my favorite fruit, you bought me a lot of it.

These are precious memories i would remember at time like this: when there is no gtalk message from you, when i only receive email if i emailed you first, when you can’t tell me when we could meet again.

These are comforting memories i would remember at time like this: when i misssssss you sooooooo much that i cried “f**k the miles!”

These are promising memories i would remember at time like this: when i doubt that we have hope for tomorrow.

Yes, at time like this, I would remember these memories.

I knew you loved me.

And I know you are loving me now.

This entry was posted in from the heart and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment